The Five Love Languages: Words of Affirmation Date Night Ideas

The Five Love Languages: Words of Affirmation Date Night Ideas

The Five Love Languages is a theory developed by Gary Chapman that suggests there are five ways in which each person tends to express and receive love. These Love Languages are: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch, Acts of Service, and Receiving Gifts. By understanding the different love languages, couples can learn how to express and receive love in a way that is meaningful and effective for their partner. By identifying which love language your partner speaks, you can tailor your communication and behavior to better meet their needs. Couples will find it beneficial, and easier to build a strong connection and healthy relationship.

Words of Affirmation is the love language that is all about using words to build up your partner and affirm their value. People who respond well to Words of Affirmation want to hear compliments, encouragement, and words of love. They value positive feedback, verbal appreciation, and words of encouragement from their partner. People who have this love language don't respond well to criticism or negative feedback.

10 Creative ways to connect with your partner using the Words of Affirmation Love Language:

  1. Leave a sweet note for them to find in the morning
  2. Text them a compliment or encouraging words throughout the day
  3. Write a love letter to them and read it aloud
  4. Make a scrapbook filled with kind words and memories
  5. Tell them how much they mean to you in front of friends and family
  6. Create a playlist of songs that express how you feel about them
  7. Leave post-it notes around the house with kind words
  8. Gift them a Book of Love filled with compliments
  9. Give them a thoughtful and heartfelt compliment before bed
  10. Tell them you are proud of them after they achieve something significant in their life

Using the Words of Affirmation Love Language can create more intimacy for couples by expressing positive and loving sentiments to one another. This can help build trust and emotional connection, and make your partner feel valued and appreciated. It can also serve as a reminder of the love that exists in your relationship, which can help to strengthen your bond. Additionally, hearing positive affirmations can boost your partner’s self-esteem and self-worth, which can lead to increased feelings of security and happiness in the relationship.

Finding out your Love Language is easy. There are 30 simple questions in the online quiz, and you can take is here. If you download our "Love Language Booklet" for some fun Love Language date night ideas. You can read about the Love Languages, guess each other's, then jump over and take the quiz.  We give you some great ideas to explore, and create experiences around each of your Love Languages.

Back to blog

Choose Your Subscription

Don't stress. With any subscription plan, it's easy to pause, skip a box, or cancel at any time!

  • Everything is included

  • Free Digital Date included

  • Free shipping

  • Pause, skip, or cancel anytime

  • Monthly

    $39.95 / month

  • 3 Months

    $36.95 / month

  • 6 Months

    $32.95 / month

  • 12 Months

    $31.95 / month